ITS America

ITS America Hall of Fame

ITS America Hall of Fame

2019 Inductee

Frederick “bud” Wright, AASHTO

Bud Wright was most recently the Executive Director of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), a non-profit, non-partisan association that supports and represents the interests and missions of state DOTs. As AASHTO’s Executive Director, Wright led a staff of 120 professionals who support the organization’s members in the development of transportation solutions that create economic prosperity, enhance quality of life and improve transportation safety in U.S. communities, states and the nation as a whole.

Wright was a transportation policy consultant prior to his appointment in 2012 to lead AASHTO. He served as Executive Director of the Federal Highway Administration from 2001 to 2008, assisting the Administrator in establishing policies, programs and priorities for the $40 billion annual Federal-aid highway program. As FHWA’s chief operating officer, he was also responsible for a workforce of more than 2,500 transportation professionals and an annual operating budget of $400 million. Wright served in a number of positions during his career with FHWA including program manager for safety and director of the Office of Budget and Finance, where he worked extensively on the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21). In 1992, he became the first non-engineer to serve as an FHWA state-level Division Administrator.

2008 - 2018 Inductees

Kirk Steudle, Director, Michigan Department of Transportation

Dr. Peter Sweatman, CAVita

Robert Skinner, Transportation Research Board
David St. Amant, Econolite

Lawrence D. Burns, General Motors Company
Abbas Mohaddes, Iteris
Jeffrey F. Paniati, Federal Highway Administration
William F. Powers, Ford Motor Company
Joseph M. Sussman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ann Flemer, Metropolitan Transportation Commission
Larry Yermack, Wendover Consult
James Constantino, Ph.D. P.E., U.S.

Mortimer Downey, Parsons Brinckerhof
Michael Doyle, Econolite Group, Inc
Randell Iwasaki, Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA)
S. Edwin Rowe, Iteris

Gerald Conover, PRC Associates
Robert G. MacLennan, Houston Metropolitan Transit Authority (METRO)
James L. Oberstar, U.S. Congress
Thomas D. Larson, PhD, FHWA

Thomas B. Deen, Transportation Research Board
William J. Harris, Texas A&M University
William W. Millar, American Public Transportation Association

Richard P Braun, University of Minnesota
Francis B. Francois, AASHTO
Lester P. Lamm, Federal Highway Administration

Robert L. Darbelnet, American Automobile Association
Christine M. Johnson, PhD, Federal Highway Administration
William M. Spreitzer, General Motors

Joseph Giglio, PhD, Northeastern University
Robert Parsons, Parsons Transportation Associates
Lyle Saxton, Federal Highway Administration, U.S. DOT
T. Russell Shields, Ygomi LLC
Harry Voccola, NAVTEQ
C. Michael Walton, PhD, University of Texas at Austin