ITS America

2019 Lifetime Achievment Award


2019 Lifetime Achievment Award Nominees

Jim Barbaresso.jpg

Jim Barbaresso

The below describes in some detail Jim’s professional positions and accomplishments. They illustrate a track record of national leadership in ITS deployment, safety and environmental sustainability. Jim’s experience shows a story of a professional who is knowledgeable on the practical challenges of implementing ITS for the benefit of transportation agencies and the traveling public, while also demonstrating his vision of emerging mobility solutions.

Since the first ITS World Congress in Paris in 1994, Jim has demonstrated leadership in ITS America and its state chapters. In 2010, when Detroit was selected to host the 2014 ITS World Congress, Jim stepped up to chair the 2014 ITS World Congress and to help reinvigorate the City of Detroit, which was facing an unprecedented economic downturn.

Jim worked tirelessly from 2011 through 2014 to ensure a successful ITS World Congress. The 2014 ITS World Congress was a springboard for connected and automated vehicle advancement globally. It was arguably the most important and most impressive ITS congress held in the Americas to date, and it re-established Detroit as a global player in emerging mobility.

Jim has a global perspective on ITS and has demonstrated this through decades of international collaboration to ensure harmonization and information sharing. Richard Harris, member of the ITS World Congress Hall of Fame, said this about Jim’s leadership of the ITS World Congress: “I really enjoyed working with Jim as he coordinated and led the organization of the successful ITS World Congress 2014 in Detroit. His relentless energy, commitment and enthusiasm and his calm, professional approach played a major part in harnessing the essential international cooperation needed for the event.”


Michael Noblett

Michael Noblett is president and chief executive officer of the American Center for Mobility (ACM), a not for profit, product development enterprise and proving ground for connected and autonomous vehicles. The innovation and testing facility for future mobility is located at Willow Run in Ypsilanti Township, Michigan.

In his role as President and CEO, Mr. Noblett is responsible for the overall strategic and operational vision of the company. Appointed by the Center’s Board of Directors in 2019, he is tasked with leading ACM’s growth strategy, spearheading program innovation and economic development initiatives.

Prior to joining ACM Michael served as a Global Solutions Executive for IBM’s software group. Where he was charged with advancing business development, industry partnerships, and international standards to further the growth of the Smarter Transportation Systems market in support of IBM’s Smarter Cities initiative.

He brings a depth of fiduciary and visionary team building acumen having worked as Executive VP of business development for Connexis LLC; a green-field connected vehicle start-up. He spent nearly 20 years with General Motors Corporation and its subsidiary OnStar, where he also served as program manager for the Automotive Multimedia Interface Collaboration (AMI-C).

Industry association contributions:
Mr. Noblett served for 9 years as Chair of ISO/TC 204, an international standards committee for ITS (200+ experts from 38 countries), FISITA BOD member & Chair of the FISITA/PIARC Joint Task Force, member of the ITS World Congress BOD, and was General Chair for the 15th Annual World Congress on ITS held in New York City 2008, the first large scale, public, demonstration of autonomous vehicles.

Wright, Bud 2013.JPG

Frederick “Bud” Wright

Bud Wright was the Executive Director of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), a non-profit, non-partisan association that supports and represents the interests and missions of state DOTs.

As AASHTO Executive Director, Wright oversaw a staff of 120 professionals who support their members in the development of transportation solutions that create economic prosperity, enhance quality of life, and improve transportation safety in U.S. communities, states, and the nation as a whole.

Wright was a transportation policy consultant prior to his appointment in 2012 to lead AASHTO. He served as Executive Director of the Federal Highway Administration from 2001 to 2008, assisting the Administrator in establishing policies, programs, and priorities for the $40 billion annual Federal-aid highway program. As FHWA’s chief operating officer, he was also responsible for a workforce of more than 2,500 transportation professionals and an annual operating budget of $400 million.

He served in a number of positions during his career with FHWA including program manager for safety and director of the Office of Budget and Finance, where he worked extensively on the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century (TEA-21). In 1992, he became the first non-engineer to serve as an FHWA state-level Division Administrator.