Policy and Business Council

The Policy and Business Council is the principal source of public policy development within ITS America in support of ITS America’s strategic role as a thought leader in transportation policy. The Council accomplishes its mission in a unified way with the ITS America Coordinating and State Chapters Councils, working closely with ITS America's leadership in the areas of transportation policy, business leadership, and government and international affairs. Download the Policy and Business Council Charter.

Policy and Business Council Leadership

  • Chair: Chris Murray, Kapsch TrafficCom North America

  • Vice Chair: Melanie Crotty, Director, Operations, Metropolitan Transportation Commission

Policy and Business Council Committees

Policy and Position Committee

  • Co-Chair: Chris Body, Kapsch TrafficCom North America

  • Co-Chair: David Zavattero, City of Chicago

Legislative Steering Committee

  • Chair: David St. Amant, Econolite Group, Inc.

  • Vice Chair: Melanie Crotty, Director, Operations, Metropolitan Transportation Commission

  • Staff Liaison: Paul Feenstra

Investment and Technology Committee

  • Chair: John Peracchio, Peracchio and Company, LLC

International Committee
  • Chair: William Russell, Eberle Design
  • Staff Liaison: Patty Fusaro

Connected Vehicle Task Force*

  • Chair: Roger Berg, Denso International America, Inc.
  • Vice Chair: Chris Poe, Texas Transportation Institute
  • Staff Liaison: Steve Bayless

Sustainable Transportation Working Group*

  • Co-Chair: Josh Peterman, Fehr and Peers
  • Co-Chair: Lou Neudorff, CH2M HILL

*Also reports through the Coordinating Council

Council Members

  • John Barton, Texas DOT
  • Roger Berg, DENSO International America, Inc.
  • Brian Blanchard, Florida DOT
  • Chris Body, Kapsch
  • Gerry Conover, PRC Associates
  • Melanie Crotty, Metropolitan Transportation Commission
  • Marjorie Dickman, Intel
  • Matthew Edelman, Transcom
  • Barry Einsig, Cisco
  • Brian J. Greaves, AT&T
  • Randy Iwasaki, Contra Costa Transportation Authority
  • Bill Legg, Washington State DOT
  • Gregory McKhann, Image Sensing Systems, Inc. 
  • Gary McVoy, Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Dennis Motiani, New Jersey DOT
  • Sue Mulvihill, Minnesota DOT
  • Lou Neudorff, CH2MHILL
  • Jim O'Neill, GEWI North America, LLC
  • Keith Parker, VIA Metropolitan Transit
  • John Peracchio, Peracchio and Company, LLC
  • Ken Philmus, Xerox Corporation
  • Chris Poe, Texas Transportation Institute
  • Scott Rawlins, KPMG
  • William L. Russell, Eberle Design Inc.
  • Faisal Saleem, Maricopa County DOT
  • David St. Amant, Econolite Control Products, Inc.
  • Matthew O. Tucker, North County Transit District
  • Jane White, Los Angeles County Department of Public Works
  • Skip Yeakel, Volvo Truck North America, Inc. 
  • Larry Yermack, Wendover Consult
  • David Zavattero, City of Chicago

Ex Officio Members

  • Steve Dellenback, Southwest Research Institute, Chair of ITS America Coordinating Council
  • Bob Murphy, AECOM, Vice Chair of ITS America Coordinating Council
  • Tom West, California PATH, Chair of ITS America State Chapters Council
  • Koreen Bjorklund, Daktronics, Vice Chair of ITS America State Chapters Council

ITS America Policy and Position Statements

ITS America and its Councils prepare Policy and Position Statements on relevant topics to state the organization's position and to guide its activities:

The Market for Intelligent Transportation Systems in the U.S. and North America 2011

    The Intelligent Transportation Society of America (ITS America) has completed a number of Market Data Studies among them is a two-phase study, commissioned by the U.S. Department of Transportation Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA), to develop accurate and comprehensive estimates of the breadth and size of the U.S. and North American Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) markets. Prior to this study, the ITS industry, and particularly the private sector portion, had never been extensively characterized. 

    About Us | Membership | Advocacy | Calendar of Events | Media
    © Intelligent Transportation Society of America
    1100 New Jersey Ave. SE, Suite 850  Washington, D.C. 20003
    1-800-374-8472 or 202-484-4847  Email: info@itsa.org