ITS Hall of Fame


ITS America Hall of Fame inductees exemplify an outstanding career dedicated to organizational and thought leadership contributing to the vision of Intelligent Transportation Systems. Each individual has served as a lifelong champion of technology’s vital role in improving transportation, and recipients personify achievement in the ultimate standards for a leader in the ITS field.

The ITS Hall of Fame was established to recognize those members whose contributions to the profession and service to ITS America has been significant, substantial and long-standing. Recipients are selected annually based on their leadership in the transportation technology arena. All have been tireless advocates for fulfilling ITS’ promise. 

2013 ITS Hall of Fame Inductees


Mortimer Downey, Senior Advisor, Parsons Brinckerhof

Mr. Downey served as the U.S. Deputy Secretary of Transportation from 1993 to 2001 and as an Assistant Secretary of Transportation from 1977 to 1981. In 2008, he led the Obama transition agency review team for transportation. In all these periods, he was involved in issues affecting Metro. From 1981 to 1993, he was an officer of New York's Metropolitan Transportation Authority, serving for several years as its Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer. Since 2001, he has been a transportation consultant, working on a wide variety of institutional, financial and organizational issues for public and private clients both foreign and domestic. He holds a B.A. degree from Yale University in political science, a Master's Degree in Public Administration from New York University's Wagner School of Public Service, and completed the Advanced Management Program at the Harvard Business School. He has received numerous transportation awards, including one of the three lifetime achievement awards ever granted by the American Public Transportation Association. He is a resident of Oakton, VA.


Michael Doyle, Chief Executive Officer, Econolite Group

Mr. Doyle has been the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Econolite Group, Inc., a traffic control equipment manufacturer and distributor and parent company to Econolite Control Products, Inc., since 1978. Prior to this, he was a partner in the public accounting firm Alexander Grant & Company (a predecessor to Grant Thornton LLP). He has also been a partner in the law firm of Stone & Doyle since 1978. Mr. Doyle is also the Chairman of the Board for Huntington Medical Research Institute. Mr. Doyle was Chairman of Intelligent Transportation Society of America for the 2007-2008 term.





Randell Iwasaki, Executive Director of the Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA)

Randell "Randy" Iwasaki is the Executive Director of the Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA). Iwasaki was appointed by the CCTA Board on April 16, 2010. Prior to CCTA Randy, was the Director of the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans). As a licensed civil engineer, Iwasaki worked with Caltrans for almost 25 years serving in a number of high profile engineering and management positions. From July 2004 to November 2004, Iwasaki was appointed as the Department’s Interim Director where he was responsible for California’s state transportation system, including more than 50,000 lane miles of state highways stretching from Mexico to Oregon and from the Pacific Ocean to Nevada and Arizona.

In 2009, he was named to Government Technology's list of 25 "Doers, Dreamers and Drivers," and in 2008 was the recipient of the Thomas H. McDonald Memorial Award, which is considered the highest award presented by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials for "rendering continuous outstanding service over an extended period of time or have made some exceptional contribution to the art and science of highway engineering." Iwasaki earned his bachelor's degree in Engineering from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, and a Master's in Engineering from California State University, Fresno.

Edwin Rowe, Senior Vice President, Iteris, Inc.

Stephen E. Rowe has served as a Senior Vice President of Iteris, Inc. since January of 1999.Between June of 1997 and January of 1999, he served as Director of the Transportation Systems business unit and Vice President of the Odetics ITS Division (now Iteris, Inc.) From 1995 to 1997 he founded and was the CEO of Gardner-Rowe Systems.From 1993 to 1995 he founded and was President of S. E. Rowe and Associates. Between June 1997 and January 1999, he served as the Director of Transportation Systems business unit and Vice President of the Odetics ITS Division prior to its incorporation as Iteris, Inc.From 1996 to 1997, he founded and was the Chief Executive Office of Gardner-Rowe Systems.From 1993 to 1995, he founded and was the President of S.E. Rowe and Associates. Mr. Rowe served as the General Manager of the Los Angeles Department of Transportation between 1987 and 1993.He has also served for two terms on the Board of Directors of ITS America.

View Photos from the 2013 Award Ceremony

About Us | Membership | Advocacy | Calendar of Events | Media
© Intelligent Transportation Society of America
1100 New Jersey Ave. SE, Suite 850  Washington, D.C. 20003
1-800-374-8472 or 202-484-4847  Email: